2013 DELINQUENT TAX SALE CALENDAR
Friday January 11 - MAIL DELINQUENT TAX NOTICES
Friday February 8 - MAIL CERTIFIED TAX NOTICES
Tuesday February 19 - TAX COLLECTOR COURT
Thursday March 21 - 1ST NEWSPAPER ADVERTISING
Thursday March 28 - 2ND NEWSPAPER ADVERTISING
Thursday April 4 - 3RD NEWSPAPER ADVERTISING
Tuesday April 30 - TAX SALE
Mandatory Liability Insurance Law
OIVS (Online Insurance Verification System)
The Alabama Mandatory Liability Insurance Law provides that no person shall operate, register or maintain registration of a motor vehicle designed to be used on a public road or highway unless it is covered by a liability insurance policy. The law was passed to protect consumers when they are involved in an accident.
Beginning January 1, 2013, license plate issuing officials will attempt to verify liability insurance utilizing the State of Alabama Online Verification System, which will allow license plate issuing officials to immediately verify the insurance status of a vehicle at any point in time.
If insurance cannot be verified through the Online Insurance Verification System, vehicle owners must provide evidence of insurance to the license plate issuing official. The insurance card is the most common evidence of current insurance. To be acceptable, the proof of insurance must display the current effective date, insurer’s NAIC number, vehicle identification number (VIN) and policy number.
In addition to providing evidence of insurance, a valid state issued driver license, non-driver identification card, or national drive license must be provided for each owner reflected on the vehicle title. If the vehicle owner is a company, the federal employer identification number (FEIN) is required.
An owner or operator convicted of a mandatory liability insurance violation may be fined up to $500 for the first violation and up to $1,000 for the second or subsequent violation and/or a six month driver’s license suspension.
In addition to the above violation, if a vehicle is registered or operated without liability insurance, the vehicle registration will be subject to the following:
First violation - $200 reinstatement fee.
Second or subsequent violations- $400 reinstatement fee and a mandatory four month registration suspension.
IMPORTANT HOMESTEAD TAX EXEMPTION NOTICE
: The Law regarding Over Age 65 and/or Total Disability Homestead Exemptions has CHANGED!
On May 10, 2012 Governor Robert Bentley signed Act 2012-313.
This Act amends Section 40-9-19, 40-9-21 and 40-9-21.1 relating to Homestead Exemptions.
The revisions require verification of all exemptions previously granted based on disability or income.
Section 40-9-21, Code of Alabama provides an exemption from ad valorem taxation of the principal residence and 160 acres adjacent thereto of any resident of this state who is retired because he or she is permanently and totally disable or who is sixty-five years or older, provided the net annual taxable income for the person claiming the exemption and that of his or her spouse is twelve thousand dollars ($12,000) or less as shown by such person and spouse’s latest United States Income Tax Return. Net annual taxable income is the adjusted gross income less personal exemption and deductions.
The Net Annual Taxable Income can be determined by referring to Line 43 of Form 1040, Line 27 of Form 1040A, or Line 6 of 1040EZ on the Federal Income Tax Return. The amounts entered on these lines are the Net Annual Taxable Income.
All homeowners who have qualified for the Over Age 65 and/or Total Disability Homestead Exemptions will receive a new exemption form this year. This new form replaces the “Yellow Card” you normally receive. PLEASE complete the new form and return it to our office as was required with the “Yellow Card”.
ATTENTION DISABLED VEHICLE OWNERS:
2012 is a verification year for disability license plates and placards.
Vehicle owners already displaying disability license plates and placards may recertify during their renewal month by signing a new form in our office or you may download it in PDF format here:
New disability applicants must have this form completed and signed by their physician.
MANUFACTURED HOMES (MOBILE HOMES)
Alabama Title Applications for manufactured homes (as of January 1, 2010) will cost $23.00 each.
As of January 1, 2012 all manufactured homes not more than twenty model years old are required to have an Alabama Certificate of Title.